Bookmark and Share

I have been an active member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. since my initiation in 2004. I attempt to attend as many conferences as economically feasibly. As a result, usually, I have some type of paraphernalia in my possession, whether it is a bag or an ink pen, that identifies me as a member of the sorority.

Alpha Phi Alpha license plate

Purchasing a fraternal license plate is the least of the benefits of joining a black greek letter organization. (Photo Credit: msmail via Flickr)

This insignia readily identifies me as a member of of the first and finest. On occasion, when I am seen with my sorority letters visible, I am approached with questions about Alpha Kappa Alpha. But one of the questions that has stuck in my mind is “What are the benefits of membership in a black greek letter organization?”  After pondering this question for awhile, I have come up with these answers which I will elaborate on in upcoming blog posts.